Cover-up

24 01 2010

So I bought my dining room set on Craigslist, I got a great deal.  The table and chairs are in great condition, a tiny tiny scratch on the table, but not noticable unless someone points it out to you.  The woman selling the set wanted $300, I offered her $200 and walked away with a nice table, leaf and 6 chairs.  Here is the table in all its glory:

When I bought the table I noticed that the white chair covers had seen better days.  I’ve recovered dining room chairs before so I figured I would do the same with this set.  I wanted to bring a little color in when I did it and since I love Amy Butler fabrics, but have never used them for a project I thought I might try them out.  You can’t buy fabrics directly from Amy Butler, so I headed out on a search for a few different fabrics from her Daisy Chain collection.  I found a great site that was really easy to use, and offered coordinating prints and colors.  That site is Hawthorne Threads, it’s a great site, IF you can find what you need.  They only had 2 of 3 fabrics I wanted in stock, and it was silly to pay twice for shipping from two different vendors so I searched for another site to get all 3 from and came across FabricWorm.  They had everything I wanted so I ordered from them instead of Hawthorne.  Here is what I ordered:

It should arrive this week and I will cover the chairs and post some before and after pics.  I hope it looks good.  Of course, once I cover them the orange rug in the dining room will have to go (it’s for the living room anyway – once we get ride of the carpet).  The rug is from Urban Outfitters and I am considering going with the same rug in the green to bring out the pops of green in this fabric, but haven’t decided yet.  Thoughts?

Actions

Information

One response

8 02 2010
Jane

I LOVE your dining room set. What a great find! I also love the fabric you have chosen for the chair seats. It will look fantastic with your gray walls.

Leave a Reply

