Stairway

16 01 2010

I’m looking for some feedback on what to do for the stairway railing.  Right now, there are just 2 x 4s which the previous owner put in so that the stairway was up to code.  We removed two of them to open up the corner and that’s why it looks a little odd.  I’d like to keep it fairly open, but also don’t want to feel like I might fall through (or Penny because sometimes she gets crazy and runs from upstairs to downstairs over and over again – this is her way of telling you that she wants to play!).  So, here are the steps now:

Some inspiration:

Modern & Metal (horizontal)

From DIYModernDesign

Modern & Metal (vertical)

From The Complete Home Store

Bright & Artistic

From The Lennoxx

Bright & Simple

From DW Partnership

I’m still searching for more ideas, but whatever I do has to be open and airy.  If you have any ideas, let me know!  I’d love for whatever we do to be something we can build/install ourselves.  I’m liking the last two because they are so simple and bright.  but am thinking I could get away with having them spaced farther apart to keep the stairway as open as possible.  Also, I plan to eventually take out the carpet in the living room and do dark wood floor.  I’d like to do the stairs with white risers and dark wood treads/steps.  I think this will leave the steps looking classic and modern.   I’m loving the way the boys over at Project Rowhouse’s stairs turned out!  I’m envisioning something similar at my house.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 02 2010
Jane

I vote for bright and simple. I think it fits your style and the style of the house the best.

8 02 2010
Janet

How about brushed metal poles at the same spacing as the 2×4’s. Possibly you could use closet poles or drapery rods.

Leave a Reply

